Entries confirmed for Pooncarie version two

The entry list for the 2023 Wentworth Shire Pooncarie Desert Dash has been confirmed with 53 crews to tackle the second round of the 2023 Polaris Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship (AORC) season.

The diverse field will see many of the crews from last month’s season opener in Gold City venture to Pooncarie – some who will also be returning to the event that made its AORC debut last year.

Headlining the entry list will be reigning champions and last year’s Pooncarie Desert Dash winners Ryan Taylor and Kye Floyd, while current championship leaders James Cook and Mitch Aucote were one of the last crews to put their entry in.

There are plenty of other big names for fans to look out for with the likes of Travis Robinson, Josh Howells, Tom and Jake Swinglehurst, Garry Turnbull, Nicholas Commins, Phil Lovett, Glenn Brinkman and Glen Ackroyd all back for the second time this year.

Joining Cook as one of the high-profile crews in the last set of entries is Brett Comiskey, who enters the event coming off a rich run of form both in Australia and abroad.

The list of star power making their first appearances for the year like Comiskey is just as strong with Lachie Bailey, Mel Brandle, Alan Dixon, Toby Whateley, Brett Rogers, Geoffrey Pickering and Trevor Chandler all expected to challenge for class and/or outright victories.

Click here to view the full entry list.

While the SXS Pro cars boast the largest numbers in the field with 24 cars, the Pro Buggies’ 17-car line-up will certainly capture the attention of fans.

Photos: Gears and Wheels Photography

The event will begin with Prologue on Saturday morning, before crews take on the first section in the afternoon, which will be made up of one lap of the 106km course.

On Sunday, crews will complete three laps of the course over the day with the event to wrap early in the afternoon.

Click here to view the Supplementary Regulations.

The Wentworth Shire Pooncarie Desert Dash runs in Pooncarie on 21-23 April.