Australian Off Road Champions crowned

A ‘who’s who’ of Australian motor sport was in attendance at Crown on Saturday night, as CAMS hosted its annual National Awards Gala Dinner.

Presented by Burson Auto Parts, national champions and series winners were recognised as well as the hard working members of the sport who give their all behind the scenes.

There was a large contingent from the off road community present to receive recognition of their success in the 2017 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship.

Matt Martin and Chris Clarke accepted their awards as Australian Off Road Champion driver and co-driver from CAMS Board Member Terry Atkinson.

Chris Browning and Clarke, Proite Buggy class winners, Paul and Michelle Malt, Extreme 4WD class winners, Geoff Pickering and Dylan Watson, Production 4WD class winners, Michael McLean and John Stewart, Extreme 2WD class winners, Declan Cummins, Super 1650 class winner, Gary Taylor, Superlite A class winner, Greg and Allison Campbell, Superlite B class winners and Waylon Jaggard, Sportslite class winner, were also on hand to accept their awards.

CAMS President Andrew Papadopoulos praised all the award winners for a successful 2017, noting the impact grassroots motor sport had across the country.

“When we look back on 2017, we were lucky enough to witness some amazing achievements both on and off the track,” Papadopoulos said.

“Grassroots motor sport is alive and well and is the cornerstone of our sport. CAMS is committed to its support of the grassroots and we are focused on ensuring that support is meaningful and continuing.”

Winners across a range of disciplines were recognised, from circuit racing and rally to off road and karting.