Healthy entry list growing for Rainbow

Entries for the penultimate round of the 2022 BFGoodrich Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship (AORC) season are rolling in with more than a week to go until entries close.

More than 30 crews have registered their place for the Hindmarsh Shire Rainbow Desert Enduro, which takes place early next month.

Entries for the fifth round of the season close on 19 August and crews can enter Rainbow here.

Headlining the current crop of crews entered list is 2022 title contender Ryan Taylor, with the Coomealla Memorial Club and Bendigo Bank race winner needing a big result in Victoria.

Taylor is one of many crews yet to attend Rainbow before – a common theme among this year’s regular crews.

With the title fight shaping up as one of the most exciting in recent times, Extreme 2WD class leader Brett Comiskey and Can-Am Loveday 400 podium getter Garry Turnbull have both entered early and will be hoping to build on their top five placings.

Brent Smoothy will also be present at Rainbow, despite selling his trophy truck after Loveday – the West Australian is instead entered in a SXS buggy, giving Comiskey an significant boost towards the Extreme 2WD class title.

Joining Comiskey in the class so far at Rainbow will be popular AORC driver Greg Gartner, who makes his first appearance in the championship since the Tatts Finke Desert Race, and his son Ben Gartner.

Click here to view the current entry list.

Ben isn’t the only junior representing the next generation of off road drivers– son of eight-time champion Mark Burrows, Matt, returns to the same event he was crowned Australian champion alongside his father in 2019.

Burrows will once again be running in a Prolite car and will be joined in the class by the likes of Luke Erceg, Glenn Collis and class leader Mel Brandle.

Brandle and Erceg had contrasting rounds at Loveday with the former coming fourth outright and the latter failing to make it past the first day after an engine fire – although an outright second place in the popular Wynarka Enduro earlier this month has giving him good confidence for Rainbow.

Other notable entries include Production 4WD veteran Geoff Pickering, SXS Sport leader John Wisse and many KINCROME SXS Motorsport Australia Championship drivers including Josh Wiedman, Greg Campbell, Glen Akroyd, Lachlan Bailey and Glenn Brinkman.

Click here to enter.

The Hindmarsh Shire Rainbow Desert Enduro takes place in Rainbow, Victoria on 2-4 September.

Photo: Show N Go Photography