Finke entries going strong

Interested participants for this year’s Tatts Finke Desert Race are encouraged to register their place before they miss out, with the entry list almost at capacity.

With the field capped to 165 crews, less than 30 spaces remain for the 25th edition of the famous event after a big influx of crews signed up in the opening days of entries.

There are a number of big names already confirmed for the event, including reigning Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship (AORC) winner Travis Robinson and former Finke Desert Race winners Mark Burrows, Shannon Rentsch, Hayden Bentley, Greg Gartner and Brad Gallard.

Reigning SXS Motorsport Australia Champion James Cook will be campaigning his new pro buggy at the famous event, while 2022 AORC champion Ryan Taylor has also entered the event.

Making his Finke debut in 2024 will be three-time Supercars champion Craig Lowndes, who will be aboard the Chevrolet Silverado ZR2 alongside Dale Moscatt.

With Finke legend Toby Price unable to take part in this year’s race, Finke Desert Race Committee President, Antony Yoffa was looking forward to crowning a new winner in 2024.

“We are extremely pleased to already have almost 140 entries for the cars category for this year, and with Toby Price not competing due to commitments in the Baja Series overseas, this year will see the crowning of a new King of the Desert on four wheels,” Yoffa said.

“It will be a tough field and there will be plenty of competitors with their eyes on the podium for this year and it will be great to see who is able to come out on top.”

Entries for the event will remain open until Friday 17 May 2024 and can be done via the Finke Desert Race website.

Crews who miss out on the first 165 spaces will be put on the event waiting list.

The 2024 Tatts Finke Desert Race serves as the second round of the AORC season on 7-10 June.

Photo: Dakar Press Team Australia